About Us

The Centre for Health and the Public Interest (CHPI) is a dynamic health and social care policy think-tank, which aims to promote evidence-based health policy in keeping with the founding principles of the NHS.

The primary focus of the Centre is to ensure that the public interest is given paramount importance in the development and discussion of health and social care policy.

The Centre’s work falls into two parts. First, it scrutinizes the prevailing orthodoxy within policy making about the benefits of choice, competition and markets and second, it explores alternative solutions to the challenges of providing universal high quality health and social care.  These solutions are based on the following principles:

  • promoting greater democratic determination and accountability in the organisation and delivery of health and social care
  • emphasizing the importance of probity, integrity and transparency in health policy making
  • providing a new focus on the social determinants of health and well being

The Centre has an approach which is UK wide and aims to learn from developments within and across the 4 countries of the UK.

Read a review of achievements in CHPI’s first year

Read our annual report for 2014-15

Why is such a Centre necessary?

The need for such a Centre has been evident for a number of years. Over the last decade a democratic deficit has emerged where key decisions about health and social care policy have been taken by a tight network of actors to the detriment of the public interest. This was brought into sharp focus when the 2011 Health and Social Care Bill made its way through Parliament.

No independent research-based body currently exists to present an alternative view of the reform agenda which has led to the largest reorganisation of the NHS in England since its creation.

Moreover, policy making has become less transparent, more opaque and more centralised than ever before and there are increasing concerns about conflicts of interest emerging for practitioners of health care in England, as well as for policy makers themselves.


How does the Centre function?

The CHPI’s mission is to focus on sound critical analysis of  of what research shows in relation to the impact and implications of health policy initiatives. The work of the Centre  builds on the existing research base which exists in the social sciences on the impact of government interventions and market based systems in health and social care. It draws on the disciplines of public health and epidemiology, political science, health economics and political economy, but ensures that this research is presented a way that informs citizens as well as contributes to the policy debate.


Focus of our work

CHPI publishes reports focusing on the following key issues affecting the NHS: competition, financing, primary care, public health, transparency and accountability and social care.

The Centre relies on a network of expert contributors to produce policy reports and research-based analyses for it, including:

Professor Martin McKee, Mr Sean Boyle, Professor Mark Button, Professor David Hunter, Professor Bob Hudson, Dr David Bell, Professor Ruth MacDonald, Professor Marianna Fotaki, Dr Catherine Needham, Professor Ian Greener, Professor Calum Paton, Professor Danny Dorling, Professor Ruth McDonald, Dr Mark Hellowell, Professor Karel Williams, Dr Kat Smith, Dr Aseem Malhotra, Tamasin Cave, Professor Scott Greer, Professor Ellie Palmer.



We receive funding only from independent organisations and individuals. We do not accept funding from any private organisation which has a financial interest in the provision of health and social care services.

We will be seeking further funding from charitable bodies and will be working to create a base of individual donors, large and small. The major funding for our first year’s work comes from the following organisations and individuals:

The Lipman-Miliband Trust, the Scurrah Wainright Charitable Trust, Betterworld and the Amiel and Melburn Trust.

Amiel Melburn Trust logo

Supporters of the Centre

Sir John Arbuthnott, Professor John Ashton, Professor Sir Mansel Aylward, Sir Kenneth Calman, Professor Simon Capewell, Professor David Colquhoun, Professor Colin Crouch, Professor Danny Dorling, Dame Karen Dunnell, Dr Clare Gerada, Dr Julian Tudor Hart, Professor Walter Holland, Dr Richard Horton, Lord Frank Judd, Baroness Helena Kennedy Professor Baroness Ruth Lister, Professor David Marquand, Professor Martin McKee, Lord Nic Rea, Professor Dai Smith, Professor Alan Walker.